2013 Week 2: The joy of undecorating

I love the holidays. Everything about it. Especially decorating. The way the house feels  warm and cozy with cinnamon candles and a glowing Christmas tree.

But to be honest, this year, I couldn’t wait to undecorate.

Sophie diving into gifts on Christmas morning

Sophie diving into gifts on Christmas morning

We’ve been in Christmas mode since Halloween. I loved it. But the minute Christmas had passed, my tree  annoyed me. There was so much “stuff” just sitting around. Santas. Advent calendars. Garlands. Lights.

I wanted it all boxed up so I could finally say we’ve passed the holiday benchmark.

This probably had something to do with the fact that I have been marking pre-baby No. 2 time by saying: “After the holidays, the baby will be here soon.” And “We need to do X and Y, but let’s worry about that after the holidays.”

My brain needed to clear out the clutter, check Christmas off the list, and turn my attention to No. 2’s arrival.

Yesterday I boxed up everything! There really wasn’t that much. One plastic bin of decorations and lights, and the case for ornaments. Still, it felt amazing. Ahhhh. Then it felt bare. Sigh.

(We have yet to move the tree to the compost pile. Last year, the tree called our balcony home until March. So any time this month would be great.)

So here we go. Undecorated. Holidays officially over. Let the nesting begin!

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Kids, Week by Week and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2013 Week 2: The joy of undecorating

  1. Melanie says:

    I dread undecorating! But this year it was done for me. Jason had been sick and took the day off, started feeling better and put EVERYTHING away before I got home from work. As thankful as I am, I can’t help feeling nervous about the ‘way’ they were put away. Will some of my most cherished ornaments be crushed under the weight of heavier decorations? I’m especially concerned for my newest addition…a set of eight hand made snowflakes fashioned from straw that my Aunt brought back from her trip to Germany. Only 11 months left to wonder…

Leave a Reply

