Week 52: A great close-out

I started 2012 with grand plans to articulate my goals and track their success in a new blog. Here it is, week 52. Just days before the start of Another 52 Weeks.

Thanks, Keryn, for snapping some pics of me and the little one.

Thanks, Keryn, for snapping some pics of me and the little one on your trip here this fall.

So how’d I do?

Meh. Not bad.

A few of the things I wanted to accomplish in 2012:

Learn German: Aside from a few words and phrases I hear repeated, mainly from my significant other speaking to our daughter, I have still zero German or Swiss German knowledge. But I’m on a language course waiting list. That counts, right?

Quit my diet pop addiction: Check. Then woops. Now I’m back to being off the juice again. Just don’t quit quitting, they say.

Get back into running: Yes! Ran two races and got more determined each week to keep running, even short distances, part of my fitness plan. It felt amazing physically and emotionally. Of course, then came the morning sickness and all the pregnancy woes with No. 2 but I’ll be back at it next year!

Help my baby sleep: Yes! Horrible sleep was a major instigator of postpartum depression for me and a formula for a crabby baby. The sleep training was almost as stressful. But my little one learned how to go to sleep on her own and stay asleep. We are a much more functional household because of it. My girl is an amazing sleeper. And we get to start all over again in a few months.

Learn more about Swiss life: That’s a work in progress, but I have loved learning about my new home. Swiss holiday traditions, no shopping on Sundays, assigned days for laundry, kissing people on the cheek three times each time you say hello and goodbye. I’m sure the lessons will keep on coming.

Untie my tennis shoes before kicking them off: I think this was the most successful task of the year. I literally feel a pang of guilt if I think about doing the old toe-shove on the back of my shoes. It stops me every time. lol. My shoes look so pretty!

Keep a blog: I certainly slacked off at times. For a lot of weeks. But I enjoyed having a little outlet for my thoughts, whether 50 people read a post or just my mom (thanks). All intentions are to keep this going for Another 52 Weeks.

Here’s to a Happy 2013 where I hope to stress less, stay in the moment more, welcome baby No. 2 safely into the world, lose some baby weight while still enjoying fondue, get some sleep, learn to cook a few new recipes, remain thankful for such an amazing partner and beautiful family, remember to take the clean clothes out of the laundry basket.

Happy New Year!

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Week by Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 52: A great close-out

  1. ms peggy says:

    And a Happy New Year to you all! I have enjoyed all of your thoughts posted here throughout the
    year and feel they brought me closer to you, Dom and Sophie. Best wishes with the arrival of the
    new little one. Love you bunches and I look forward to the next 52 weeks!

Leave a Reply

