Week 51: Language school fail

Several months ago, I managed to accomplish a small goal — researching and enrolling in a German language course. I found one that fit my interests, my budget, my schedule. Everything.

I called the office. Spoke (in English) with a very nice woman who explained the program.

The school operates on an as-requested basis. When enough prospective students request the same level and time block, the school calls us back to see if we’re still interested. If so, it’s a green light.

She took my information (in English), and I expected this could take a while.

Fast forward to December and I was beginning to think I’d need another option if I wanted any basic lessons before Number 2 arrives in early March.

That’s when I got the phone call (in English). The one that informed me (in English) that there were “now enough students available for the basic English course. Are you still, um, …. interested?”

That’s right. ENGLISH. Whaaaaa?

I could tell she was starting to put it all together as she was speaking to me (in English), that there might be some mistake.

Though I’m sure some might say I could benefit from basic English instruction, it’s back to the waiting list.

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Swiss Life, Week by Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

