Week 47: Words. What the heck are you saying?

Sophie’s baby journal has a blank space next to the category “Baby’s first word.” I’m supposed to write down what she said and when she said it.

Sophie instructing Zoe to “Sit.”

I haven’t been huge on watching for milestones but I have had my ears peeled for any signs that the babbling of every syllable under the sun is now attached to meaning.

For a while, when Dominique came home from work, Sophie would run to the door shrieking “Da Deee!!!” But that sound came out for lots of things. Was she calling him “Daddy?” Or was she simply squealing with excitement spewing out her favorite sounds.
Who the heck knew?

Eventually, somewhere between 14 and 15 months, we began deciphering the language of Sophie. So, (thanks for the idea, Melanie), I will now share the key to this new communication. Subject to change at a moment’s notice.

Sign language

Hands out to the sides: All done
Fist to mouth: Eat
Two fists together: More
Hand straight out in a “talk to the hand” manner: No / Get that food out of my face
Shaking head vigorously from left to right: Heck no
Pulling mom and dad’s finger: Come with me / Pick me up / Do what I say
Arms overhead: Up high / Touchdown (Daddy wishes)

Verbal language

Dah dee: Daddy?
Mumumumum: Yummy / hungry / Mommy?
Done: Done / Down
Ahs (May sound like a certain curse word): Eat *This is her first German word — Essen means to eat
Da: Diaper
Saas: Socks / Shoes
GRRR: I’m frustrated
Ach: Yuck
Hass or just Ssss: Hot (holding palm out) *This may be her second German word — Heiss means hot
Hey: Hey
Boo: Pumpkin
Sit (may also sound like a certain curse word): Sit (usually said while pointing at Grandma’s dogs whether they are sitting already or not)
Dis (or, as of late, Disth): I want this (while pointing)
Bah bah bah: The theme song to How I Met Your Mother

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Kids, Week by Week and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 47: Words. What the heck are you saying?

  1. Mom says:

    I really love when somebody (me) walks into the room and she says in a sing song voice … Hi i i i … too sweet

Leave a Reply

