Week 36: Two under two

When you feel like you’ve got the hang of juggling all the balls, it’s best to add one more to keep things interesting. 🙂

And so, we’ll be adding one more March 5.

Baby No. 2 at 12 weeks

This means that, if the littlest one waits until its due date, we’ll have two under two years old for about five months.

I’ve heard this could be tricky and exhausting and I’m open to any advice.

The decision to have two close in age wasn’t always obvious. I wavered quite a lot as Sophie moved out of her blob phase and into mobility.

Hearing about the poor moms who had barely recovered from child birth discovering their birth control failed and were awaiting the arrival of their Irish twins, babies born within 12 months of each other, I could hardly imagine the panic I’d be in.

My focus was on clearing the hurdles of the bit of postpartum depression/anxiety I’d developed, sleep deprivation and, what I believe now is an emotional drain from  breastfeeding.

Wouldn’t it be nice to get back to “normal” before diving in again? Give it three years … or so.

But I also liked the idea of having kids close in age. Dominique and his brother are about two years apart. My estranged brother and I were less than two years apart and from what I understand, though we don’t speak now, we were very close as children.

Add to that my “advanced maternal age” and having a second baby started to make more sense.

My mom said having two close in age was easier than the age difference between her middle and youngest — about 4 years. You’re already in the baby mindset. You’re used to no sleep and keeping toddlers out of harm’s way. A baby after moving out of that phase of parenthood can be a bit of a shocker.

Add to that some observations from a friend who reminded me that it’s a little trickier finding entertainment for kids who are a bit farther apart in age and development.

The scales eventually tipped in the direction of sooner rather than later and I never looked back.

We are all excited for March and the new life joining our family.

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Kids, Week by Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 36: Two under two

  1. Heather says:

    My close friend here in Florida had a boy and then her second one day after her first’s first birthday…..wowza! Technically not Irish twins but I count them anyways. She went on to have one more just three months shy of her second’s first birthday. So three under 2.5!!!!!!! Yikes. Not my thing. But she is of *cough*ummmm advanced maternal age too. I don’t honestly know all her why’s but ultimately it should be because its what you wanted. I did have the good fortune to have Ella and Ezra spaced widely apart which is what I wanted. And just two. Felt pretty blessed again to have one of each! Either way embrace it because its what’s you got!!!!!

  2. Adelita says:

    Congrats! I an due March 5 with #2 also! But my babies will be 23 months apart eeek!

  3. kate says:

    My 2 are 20 mo. apart and ive survived! Of course there are challenges, but i think it is easier when youre in “the baby mode”. My two are the best of friends and their relationship has brought me so much joy! Things recently got a lot easier (daughter 4 and son 3), so much that i decided to go for a third. We have a march baby on the horizon, too! I’ll be at salem spital in bern, how about you?
    I relate to your blog a lot and enjoy reading it. Props to finding the time to get your thoughts down! Good luck!!! Kate

    • Hi Kate,
      I’m definitely looking forward to our two littles developing their friendship! 🙂 Congrats on your March baby. Maybe we’ll see each other in recovery. If all goes well, I will be at Salem again, too. It’s so good to know that 2 under 2 is survivable! lol. All the best!

  4. Aubrey says:

    I’m an expat living in Lausanne and I am a stay at home mom now to 3 girls (4, 3 and 9 months). We moved here when I was pregnant with my second. I had a 1 year old and I was 7 months pregnant! It was an adventurous move to say the least! It is hard at first really having 2 babies. I found that being pregnant with a little one was actually harder than having a 15 month old and a newborn. But if you can get through the beginning, once they get a little older it is amazing! My older girls entertain themselves and it is so nice to see them play together, and I dont have to be with them or entertain them! Good luck and I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

