Week 35: No more excuses. Language school.

I’ve been in Switzerland for more than a year now and have no idea how to introduce myself in German. I can’t order from a menu. I can’t count past four.

I tried Rosetta Stone. I have no self motivation for talking to a computer screen.

I tried forcing my partner to teach me. But I didn’t try that hard. And he didn’t push it.

I need a teacher. A drill instructor. Someone to bring out my people pleaser side, to force me to cram the information into my skull so I’m not embarrassed in front of a class.

And now that I have shed the sole nighttime responsibilities for the little one, it’s time to get serious about language school.

There are a couple of options in Bern and my challenge this week is to find a program that is right for my (lack of) skills and schedule.

This shouldn’t be difficult, but given my propensity for slacking on the German front, this could take months.

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in German, Week by Week. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 35: No more excuses. Language school.

  1. Mom says:

    you can do it … you have always shined in the class room

  2. ChristinaGlazar says:

    Hang out with lots of Swiss people and try to go to school in person …. that is how I learned English. Learning from your partner is a hard. If you are among lots of people who only speak German you eventually will learn it and if it is just because you want so badly to share with them.

Leave a Reply

