Week 33: Back to the small stuff, the laundry quandry

I have been pretty under the weather the past few weeks but on the up in recent days.

I’m still dragging however, with e-mails unanswered, bills unopened, the easiest possible lunches to prepare and a permanent indent on the couch where I sit and watch Sophie tear through the house.

One of the more obvious signs of the lazy bones that still rule is two baskets of folded laundry.

Laundry day was Monday and on Sunday night I still had not transferred last weeks clothes from the baskets to the closets.

This has been the story for the past two weeks. So, as I rebound from what ailed me, my challenge is small but annoyingly difficult and reminiscent of my days as a teenager.

Put the darn clothes away!

It actually does take some strategic planning. I have to reserve enough energy for the great clothes-put-away for the only possible time of day that my efforts won’t be undone by a 1-year-old hurricane.

Accomplishing anything during nap time has been a no-go while sick. I lay down while the little one naps. It must be after Sophie’s bedtime and our dinner and cleanup, otherwise, the room looks a little like this:

With lightening speed, Sophie turns out the shelves, unfolds the towels and blankets and scatters them with glee.

Not only do we have to watch the drawers while putting away the shirts and socks. If the laundry basket is on the floor, it’s open season. Everything inside must come out IMMEDIATELY. A lucky garment or two may even become the cape or blindfold with which Sophie speeds around the furniture.

Yes, laundry has to be finished between 9 and 10 p.m. That is, if I don’t collapse into bed early or find my way back to the couch for some TV zoning.

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Week by Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 33: Back to the small stuff, the laundry quandry

  1. ms peggy says:

    Sorry you have been under the weather but Sophie sure looks like she is having fun!

Leave a Reply

