Week 23: Finished my races, ready for more

Running on wet cobblestones in Old Town Bern

I huffed and puffed and crossed the finish lines.

I did it. I set the goal to lace up my sneaks, my kicks, my go-fasters, and complete two races — to lose some baby weight, to get back into a regular fitness routine, to feel the adrenaline when I push myself.

And it was everything I hoped it would be. With the not-so-cheap entry fees paid and my ego on the line, I was encouraged to try to run a few times a week. To embrace the hills I’ve so feared.

I had fun finding new routes, pushing my times, scrambling my running music mix. Even if the run was hard, every single time I walked back in my apartment after hitting the streets and trails, I felt strong. Strong physically. Strong mentally.

Running in these races was on a whole new level. I’ve never seen so many runners in one place. The Grand Prix 4.7 k had more than 7,000 finishers. The women’s race had more than 3,000. There was music, people screaming for you on the side of the road, photographers. Not to mention, running in Bern is beautiful, with the bridges and centuries old buildings.

Photo by Andy Mettler

I loved every panting minute of these race days.

I hope my body will hold up to running for many years and miles finish lines to come.

Here are some race details and pics:

The Bern Grand Prix 4.7 k

Time: 25:03.5
Place: 809 out of 3,825 women
Place in age group: 242 out of 1,116 20-40 year olds

Bern Frauenlauf 10k

Time: 54:07.2
Place: 169 out of 501 women age 35 – 40
Overall: 1,433 out of 3,810 women

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Body and Soul, Swiss Life, Week by Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

