Week 22: OBB update, sleeping through the night

Shhhhhh.

Do you hear that?

Is that a choir of singing angels I hear? Oh yes, my friends. Singing hallelujah!

There is silence in the night.

This week, my challenge was to drop Sophie’s nighttime feedings / wakings / shenanigans.

We’ve tried a million and one ways to at least regulate the number of times the little one woke up. And as many ways to help her get back to sleep.

Shushing, rubbing her back, singing, walking, rocking, shortening nursing sessions, sitting by her crib, sending Dominique in to console her instead of me.

We’d see a little progress after a ton of frustration on everyone’s part and then, within a day or two, we’d be back to square one. Three, four, maybe more, night wakings with only nursing to send her back to sleep.

This was the last resort. Cold turkey. No more night feedings for the little bean.

The plan was to put her to bed at 7 p.m. and not go in again, save for emergencies, until 6:30 – 7 a.m.

I was nervous. I braced for a lot of tears. And this is what we got.

Night 1: woke 4 times. The first three wakings, she fussed for 15 minutes each. She really protested off and on from 4 – 5 a.m.

Night 2: woke 3 times. The first two wakings, she fussed for 5 minutes. Protested more loudly from 3:30 – 4 a.m.

Night 3: woke 1 time. Protested for 30 minutes off and on

Nights 4-6: slept through 10+ hours without a sound

I am beside myself. I never thought we would get here. Sleep. Well, at least for the little person. I’m still waking up a few times a night. But maybe one night soon that will change.

I never thought I’d try the so-called “Cry it out extinction” method. It sounded cruel to me. But seeing the failure of everything else helped me make the decision to try it.

Sophie actually cried longer and harder during the no-cry methods we tried before. We seemed to be pushing a boulder up hill and stopping part way expecting that boulder wouldn’t roll back down.

This way, we got the boulder up to the top. I’m sure it will slip at times. Like when she travels through time zones, or cuts new teeth.

But now we have a plan that works. And that is worth singing out about.

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Operation Bedtime Bootcamp, Week by Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

