Week 21: Leaving the baby with someone else

Sophie, for the first time, spent time with her grandparents and uncle without Mom and Dad.

Equally as noteworthy, “Mom and Dad” transformed back into “Tara and Dominique” for a couple of hours.

It was fabulous.

We put the top down on the Mustang and cruised around the city. Stopped at a brewery with a fantastic view of the old town. Sipped beers. Snacked on pretzels.

It felt like a layer of something — maybe my mommy suit — was peeling back and I could feel a part of my life I hadn’t noticed in a long time.

Dom and I actually get a couple of “us” hours every day after the little person goes to sleep. But there’s something rejuvenating about knowing we’re not the ones who are caring for her at that precise moment. That little voice in my head that is constantly on guard, even while she sleeps, took a back seat.

Dom commented that when he was a baby, his mom and her neighbor would just take turns wheeling the bassinets to each others houses for a bit of free time. He and his brother were tiny babies when they left their parents’ side for the first time.

But it wasn’t that easy for me.

First, I had known his family for all of a couple of months before Sophie was born. The thought of leaving her with them felt, at that time, like handing her over to our mail lady.

Second, I had new mommy anxiety. I imagined every possible bad, stupid, annoying thing that could happen while someone else watched my baby. Somehow, the family that raised my partner could now turn into idiots. Were they going to shove french fries in her mouth, turning her into a 50 pound 4-month-old before a movie rolled credits?

Third, there was a part of me that felt a little bitter that my “in-laws” would get to spend this time with her when my parents couldn’t.

Waiting until I had worked through all of those issues helped me to enjoy the time with Dominique instead of constantly worrying. I trusted that they would know how to distract Sophie if she got upset, that they knew how to call emergency services if she chocked on peas.

After a beautiful late afternoon on the town, we returned to collect our little person.

When the door opened, Sophie was in tact and in her grandma’s arms. As soon as she saw us, her tears started flowing and her little arms reached out for us. In a matter of minutes, though, she was happy and down on the floor exploring and babbling.

Sophie and her family bonded. Mom and dad took break.

Everyone agreed. We need to do this again.

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Week by Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 21: Leaving the baby with someone else

  1. so SO glad you guys got a break. Happy parents make happy kids after all 😉

  2. Taryn says:

    When Charlotte was around Sophie’s age, I left her with my in-laws for 3 hours of me-time in Montreal, and went crazy with worry the whole time. Good for you for being able to put your fears aside and enjoy your adult time!

  3. Melanie says:

    Being a working mom, Max has gotten pretty used to spending time away from mom and dad. I’m a bit torn now though – as glad as I am that he enjoys daycare or going to his cousins, it wouldn’t hurt if he put up just a teeny tiny bit of a fuss when I left, would it? lol Today he even waved bye-bye to me; I don’t even have to sneak out anymore.

Leave a Reply

