Week 19: Keeping track

One of the most amazing things I’ve learned as a stay-at-home mom has been watching Sophie unfold from a swaddled newborn into a cruising, curious hurricane of destruction.

Sophie turned 9 months old on Saturday and to say time has changed our lives is an understatement.

She’s digging in plants, doing pull ups from cupboard handles and just last week standing for a few seconds without holding on. Her drive to explore is fascinating, a little dangerous and sometimes, like when she uses her high chair as a walker, absolutely hilarious.

But as we approach her first year I realize I haven’t done a fantastic job documenting my favorite Sophie-isms.

Of course, I’ve taken a million pictures. One year I may even organize them.

But even so. Sometimes I’m just not fast enough with a camera. I’m too busy watching or hovering close enough to catch my falling bobble-head.

What I should be doing, what I wish I’d been better at these nine months, is keeping a journal.

It takes more time than snapping a picture, sure. But the words on a page can remind me, and, one day, Sophie, of how I felt when she smiled the first time, or how she was the biggest hit with the school kids on the train into Bern.

Those little moments that just happen, that you share with your partner at the end of the day, that you think you’ll remember, they have a way of slipping into the deep and blurred by so many other days’ memories.

I’d like to keep a few more of those times closer to the surface.

So this week, I plan to shop for a little Sophie journal. Something I can keep by my bedside and jot a few sentences down about the little things. Hopefully it will turn into a cherished keepsake. And be a great help when I get old-timers brain. 😉

 

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Week by Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

