Week 17: Aiche two oh

I must admit. I feel a little lame for writing a post about this. But.

Water. H2O. A little ol’ molecule that is a big challenge for me.

I love to watch it roll in tides. I love to listen to it trickle over rocks or pour over falls.

But I cannot ever seem to drink it like a good girl should.

During pregnancy, no problem. I was hooked to my water bottle, refilling it and nearly simultaneously emptying it over and over again, every day.

But once I got the OK from my doctor that a little caffeine wouldn’t harm my breastfed daughter, I rekindled my love affair with a certain diet cola.

I’d sip a 20 ounce bottle throughout the day and barely anything else. I don’t think one pop (yes, I’m from the Midwest) is so bad. But the taste made me want nothing else. Make no mistake, I am an addict.

Recent attempts to kill the crush have failed me. I tried to drink just half a bottle and switch to water. It never lasted. There is no self control.

So this week, I purposely left cola off the grocery list. It’s all water all week (aside from my morning tea) and I have the headache to prove it.

Surprisingly, it’s working. I have been drinking tons of water these past few days. Helped by the fact that we have a carbonating contraption to bubble up the tap water. Throw in a splash of lemon or lime juice and it’s a quite-nice refreshment.

Even temptation is subsiding.

As I took Sophie on our walk today, I passed the market with a few Francs in my pocket and started salivating for my drink. Luckily it was lunch break for the workers and the doors were locked. Ah the joys of Swiss living with the stores closed from 12-2.

The same can’t be said for the walk back. I imagined my excuses. What’s one pop compared with my typical six or seven in a week? But no. I kept on walking. I resisted.

Why is it so hard to change one little thing? I know H2O is so much healthier for me. More hydration. Fewer chemicals. Etc. It matters not.

Still. I’ve done this before. Quit pop. I can do it again. It starts this week. Now I just need to cut my head off till this withdrawal passes.

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Body and Soul, Week by Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 17: Aiche two oh

  1. Melanie says:

    Ah ha! Here is a challenge I can manage. I may not be jogging or blogging, learning a new language or getting nominated for any awards – but drinking water? Well I’m right there with ya sister! 😉

Leave a Reply

