Week 16: A week of “didn’ts”

It’s week 16 and I wanted to write a little about week 15. Cuz I skipped it. I didn’t do much last week. In fact. I’d say week 15 was a week of “didn’ts.”

I didn’t write. Didn’t run. Didn’t do yoga. Didn’t care that I ate a grocery store aisle worth of Easter chocolate.

I felt, somewhere inside, that I wanted the week to be different. To do those things I hadn’t been doing. But want had too small a voice to change how I spent my time.

What I did do was wonder where my motivation had gone. I heard a quote that said: “If it matters to you, you find the time. If it doesn’t you find excuses.”

I normally subscribe to this sentiment. But I could feel what “mattered” somewhere inside. And I wasn’t making any excuses.

The truth was I just needed a break. I was exhausted. Run down. Not sick. Just blah. (Well, there were very nice moments last week with family for Easter and Dominique’s birthday. But my personal wish list was on the back burner.)

A book called the Four Agreements reminded me that we should always do our best. But the essence of “our best” is fluid, not fixed. It’s not a rigid schedule or a check list of must-dos. Our best is being in the moment, even if that moment isn’t what we planned.

We can’t put the same level of effort in when we’re sick as when we’re operating at 100 percent. And we can’t beat ourselves up for doing less on some days than on others.

So I gave in. I still felt tired. I still wanted to do more. But my week of didn’ts reminded me to be in the moment. To allow myself to go off script and give myself a break.

And that felt like, ahhhhh, balance.

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Body and Soul, Week by Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 16: A week of “didn’ts”

  1. tlbflowllc says:

    Nice post! It’s funny. In the fitness world, we often hear everybody cheering the mantra of “No pain, no gain!” and the like. Usually, those people just end up getting hurt and being forced by nature to take a break in the form of an injury.

    I like how you promote balance. You didn’t talk about, “I’m going to sit around, get so fat that I can’t move, and be ‘happy’!” You just talked about taking a break and a level-headed approach to health. In doing so, you’re probably keeping yourself from the injuries and burn-out that others accidentally run into.

    Love it. Thanks! And I hope your adventures in Switzerland go well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

