Operation Bedtime Bootcamp – Night 3

High hopes for this night were dashed in the beginning, but redeemed in the middle of the night. This process has more ups and downs than I had hoped. But it is generally working. We know she CAN put herself to sleep and do so without much protest. She can also sleep for much longer stretches in the night than she had been doing on a regular basis. Now we just have to consolidate all of her abilities and practice, practice, practice.

Night 3 – Not so great

Checks for tonight will be 10, 15, 20 and 25 minutes

6:40 Put in crib. Fussing a lot. Crying for a few minutes. Quiet for a few minutes. This goes on for a while. I think she’s about to sleep, then she wakes. Maybe I put her down too early? But she had been up earlier and has been up from her nap long enough. She was yawning and tugging her ears, rubbing her eyes, all of her “I’m sleepy” signs.

I get online, BabyCenter, to ask for advice. I’m starting to doubt myself here. Her cries are breaking my heart. I wasn’t expecting this considering how much better everything had been going.

A sleep expert there encouraged me and reminded me that there can often be regression around the third day. The little ones want their old ways back and they can sometimes fight the new routine. I actually read that somewhere, too. But I had been scouring my books and couldn’t find it. With Sophie crying in the background and me fighting my own tears, I am so anxious. It’s dinner time for mom and dad and I have no appetite. And it’s Fondue! This is awful. :(

7:55 Asleep. The same time she fell asleep the night before. But this time, with 1 hour 15 minutes of crying. Same, too, as the first night, she doesn’t stay asleep. She wakes in an hour and cries for a half hour. She sleeps for 90 more minutes and wakes hungry.

11:05 It’s been about five hours since she ate last, so I feed her. She goes down in her crib awake and she doesn’t make a peep. She’s asleep before I get back to bed.

3:45 Awake for food. That’s a solid 4-hour stretch! I put her back down awake. Once again, she immediately settles into dream land. Now we’re back on track. Except now I can’t sleep. Have been awake since 2 a.m. Grrr. ;)

7:40 Awake for the day. Ok. This started off crap and then got better. We’re in this for the long haul, right? Stay strong. This is for everyone’s benefit even though it’s very tough now.

Day 3 – A bit of a rocky road – that’s mom and dad’s fault

10:00 Put down for first nap. She’s asleep instantly. I am so in love with these new naps.

11:30 Awake. Still a good long nap at 90 minutes.

Here’s where we screwed up. We run long at the grocery store and the little one is getting antsy to get some sleep. We don’t get home until 2:20 p.m. She should have been in bed twenty minutes ago. Now she has fallen asleep in the car seat on the 6 minute drive home.

Not sure if I should leave here there to sleep, but I opt for getting her into her own bed. I get her up and she’s not happy with that AT ALL. I give her a snack, change her diaper and let her listen to her music box. She’s totally happy now. Except when I go to lay her down.

2:30 Put her to bed and she instantly cries. Poor thing is so tired.

3:00 She never does settle, so I get her up and plan to try again in a bit.

3:45 We try the whole thing over again, minus the snack. She cries instantly, before I even leave the room. I go in to check on her after ten minutes. She’s still mad. And then the unexpected happens.

3:57 She falls asleep. Now I have to think about how long to let her sleep so that it doesn’t mess up bedtime. Probably 5:30. … Ah, there she is. Awake at 5:20. Keeping our fingers crossed for Night 4.

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Operation Bedtime Bootcamp, Week by Week. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Operation Bedtime Bootcamp – Night 3

  1. You are doing AWESOME!!! It’s not a perfect “we are now in a schedule” kind of thing. It ebbs and flows a little as they figure it out. And yes, by 6 months she knows what life is supposed to be like and will loudly let you know when she disagrees with what you are doing. Get used to it. That one doesn’t go away. Dek just protests with lots of words now. Mainly “mommy, mommy, MOMMY!!!” But you guys are seeing the benefits and staying strong. Use your instincts as you are doing and stick to your routines. You can do it!!! Now we just have to figure out how to train you to go back to sleep after 2am feedings. Ha ha!

  2. Heather says:

    Trust me, I sleep trained both of my kids, I did it much earlier since I didn’t produce milk and bottle fed so they weren’t too set in their ways…However I am on the other end of it and we sleep, they sleep its a wonderful. Keep it up! She’ll get the hang of it and you’ll be on the other side of it soon!!!!

Leave a Reply

