Week 4: Midweek update on the Deutsch lessons … or not

Oh, how plans get tossed like trash.

Week 4 decided to define its own challenge. Sleep.

Sleep for Sophie. Sleep for me. Or should I say, seriously disturbed sleep. A major fail to sleep.

I have been putting my head in the sand on this one for a while now. Bad Mamma.

Sophie has been nursed to sleep since day one. Occasionally she falls asleep in a carrier, a stroller or being rocked/walked/sushed/patted-on-the-bum. I didn’t mind the interrupted sleep. I got used to it after a few weeks as I suspect all parents do. I grew to enjoy our little quiet time together in the wee hours.

Her sleep stretched and I could see soon she would be sleeping through the night.

HA!

Around 3 months old the Sandman ran far, far away. Our bedtime routine became her nighttime issues. She began waking more often. It took hours to get her to settle for the night.

Sophie was becoming increasingly overtired and, while still generally happy, grew fussier, more clingy and had a hard time staying awake after naps. (Naps. Don’t get me started on those.)

For more than two weeks I have gotten up with the little one almost every hour.

Last night was a breaking point for me. For all but 90 minutes of a 12 hour night, Sophie refused to let me put her down. Fast asleep in my arms for no matter how long, the moment she touched the sheet, my sweet little one erupted with cries of protest.

I considered co-sleeping. I believe it can be done safely and work beautifully for many families. I wish it would have worked for us. But she’s a wiggle worm and I’m a light sleeper.

So this week, I chucked the plans to practice German for a plan to hunt down some ZZZZs.

So stick around for the revised Week 4 challenge:

The dreaded, ever controversial, sleep training.

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in German, Week by Week. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 4: Midweek update on the Deutsch lessons … or not

  1. You can do it! It sucks, but will go quicker than you think (and quicker than potty training!) I can leave skype on so you can use me as your distraction whenever needed if you want. Let me know how I can support you. I’ll be back in that land soon enough. Course I’m trying to sleep train while he is in the womb at the moment 😉

  2. Adelita says:

    For the first 6 months of my daughters life, I nursed her to sleep for nights and naps. I thought I cursed myself! There was no way sleep training would work for a baby who needs a boob in her mouth to fall asleep, right? Wrong! We used Ferber’s modified cio and in 3 nights, she was putting herself to sleep sans boob. It was a sleep miracle! Keep your head up, your daughter will figure it out!!

Leave a Reply

