Week 3: Midweek update on the running plan

Last August, my friend Greg encouraged me to run a half marathon scheduled for the following January. That’s 13.1 miles. How many had I been running? Big fat zero.

Naturally I wanted to do it. We started with three mile runs three days a week. Three miles is a long way when the farthest you’ve run is from your car to your office door.

By the fall I had increased my weekly mileage to about 20 miles and logged one good run of more than 13 miles. I was so ready!

Then December happened. Got a little Christmas surprise and my running slowed with the growth of my belly. My doctors told me no go on the half marathon and I gradually scaled back the mileage and hung up my shoes by the time I was five months pregnant.

So here I am, 5 months post c-section and planning to start a regular running routine. I ran with Sophie Monday and today. She’s got a great pace. đŸ˜‰ Na, she’s got this sweet little deal.

The kinderwagen

Saturday I’ll leave the little one with her papi (German for daddy) and see how the legs feel unencumbered by three wheels. High temps between 32 and 42 F.

Run #1: Well, it was more of a run/walk. I was pretty bummed when I had to walk after about 9 minutes. It was a gradual incline that killed me. I tried to take it slow, small steps, but man, my lungs crunched up and I felt pretty dumb pushing a stroller, huffing, going no faster than a walk. So that’s what I did. I walked until I caught my breath and then ran again. Then I walked. Then I ran. Then. You get the picture. For about 3.5 miles. Three measly little miles from someone who could pound out 10 on a Saturday morning and still have energy to walk to the market for a crepe and coffee.

Ah, whatever. It’s day 1 of what will hopefully become a routine. Hills and pushing a stroller that will get heavier with the weeks. It’s all part of the deal.I’m hoping this will be a long term challenge for 2012.

Run #2: I ran basically the same path and had basically the same results. I walked where I walked before. Except I did manage to pump myself up one hill and for that I gave myself a high five. Sometimes you just have to walk, but it’s the keepin-on-goin that counts.

It really is beautiful here, even though I took a path along a busy road. It was a clear day and the Alps stood bright white against the pinkish evening sky.

Here a farm, there a farm.

Old farm houses sat up on hills that kept the fields in shade, leaving the green grass frosted white. I had planned to take a picture but my phone died midway through the “run.” I took this picture last year in the same area. I guess I don’t really mind walking along these roads.

OK. One more day and I can say I have completed my challenge for the week. Five day forecast shows a mix of rain and snow for the next few days. Not sure how I’ll feel about running in those conditions. Did I mention I used to run in Florida?

 

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Body and Soul, Week by Week. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 3: Midweek update on the running plan

  1. I’m impressed you ran at all. Cold weather and running just does not mix in my world. 70s with a light breeze is more my style. Maybe that’s why I am not a runner? Hmmmm…but I might need you to be egging me on this summer after I recover from baby #2. Mama has to get back in shape. I’ll be in a swimsuit by July! Ahhhhh!!!!

Leave a Reply

