Week 2: Start a blog

Already two weeks in to 2012. That happened fast.

I decided it was OK to give myself a by on the first week. I was back in the United States — Michigan and Florida to be precise — for Christmas and, more importantly, to introduce Sophie to her American relatives and friends.

My first challenge was to get this blog off the ground.

Roadblock #1: Exhaustion.

We’re home from two and a half weeks overseas and while the trip was fantastic, we’re getting over colds and surviving sleep deprivation as the little one tries to adjust back to Central European Time.

Just because she’s so cute …

I’ve been up until 3 a.m. going on five nights now as the baby fights sleep. This is not conducive to creative thinking.

I was tempted to put it off another week, but I decided to give it a shot and compile my first posts. It’s my blog and if it’s a rambling incoherent pile of letters, then so be it. I needed to get this started before the next 52 weeks is upon us.

So instead of surfing the web while Sophie catnapped, I just started writing — anything. Anything that came to my head. Even if it was ridiculous. Sure enough, I remembered how fun it is to write, edit, rewrite and hit the “Publish” button (praying that I spelled everything correctly, no squiggly red lines under half of my words and the grammar isn’t too horrendous). And there it was, my first post.

Lesson #1: While time might seem scarce as my little person needs me for just about everything, there will almost always be a few spare minutes for something fun. Even when you’re so tired you can’t see straight, it seems, at least for me, that just getting something started, whether it’s writing a blog post in 5-minute intervals every day for a week, e-mailing a friend or catching up on the news of the day, can actually be rejuvenating. There’s a rush of satisfaction, must be a release of some feel-good hormone I don’t know the name of, when I can say to myself: “Ha! I did it.”

Roadblock #2: Where to begin

I’ve had a few blogs in my college days but grad school is seven years behind me now. I had no idea where to begin. But wait! I did, my friend Keryn’s blog was on WordPress so it was a good place to start. Lo and behold! When I tried to sign up, that smart little site said I already had a page. Ha. Yes sir, I started a blog while on internship in Belgium. Two posts. Let’s hope this one is a little more prolific.

Lesson #2: When you don’t know the answer, you may know someone who does. If not, google it.

I asked the “InterWebs” how to start a blog. I came upon a site that had short reviews of 10 blogging platforms. A few minutes later I was taking tours of each option and landed right back at WordPress. There is still a lot to learn about what this site can do but I think I’m off to a good start. Sometimes I feel like I have to know everything about how to do something before I start doing it. But this time I’ll go with the “Fake it till ya make it” mantra and see where that takes me.

OK people (well, just me at this point, no one else knows I’m out here) that’s all I got. Sophie has slept a record 2 hours and I’m tired of watching her sleep on the monitor. I’m off to bed.

Tune in next week as I attempt to …

Jog three days in one week

About Tara McLaughlin

I'm a stay-at-home mom to two girls in my boyfriend's hometown of Bern, Switzerland. Life as a new mom in a foreign country has been, in so many ways, rewarding and challenging. I will document that journey here, on Another 52 Weeks.
This entry was posted in Week by Week. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 2: Start a blog

  1. Ha ha! Well I’m on WordPress and still living the “Fake it till ya make it” mantra. There is loads to do. You just figure it out along the way. Usually when you decide you want to do something new. And remind me to take that run 3 times a week challenge this summer after the baby comes 😉

  2. Melanie says:

    Nice bib, Sophie! 😉

Leave a Reply

